Srinagar: District Administration, Srinagar has selected 25 schools for establishment of Smart Class Rooms and providing modern teaching-learning material apart from capacity building and training of staff.
The move is aimed at equipping Government schools with technology and improving teaching-learning experience. The teachers of selected schools will undergo capacity building modules devised by the National Institute of Educational Planning and Administration.
The implementation committee headed by District Development Commissioner with Joint Director Planning, Superintending Engineer PWD, Chief Education Officer, District Education Planning officers as members will also have representatives from educationists and domain experts.
It is pertinent to mention here that District Administration in collaboration with Srinagar Smart City Ltd earlier established 25 smart schools which were inaugurated earlier this year with an enrolment of more than 3600 students. The district administration intends to develop more than 100 schools on similar lines in a phased manner.
The Government Schools selected for establishment of smart class rooms will be provided smart boards, modern furniture, RO water purifier, teaching-learning material, sports equipment, book racks, library and other infrastructure. Community ownership and management of schools is encouraged under the initiative.
The schools selected for establishment of Smart Class Rooms by the district administration include BMS Kreshbal, PS Old Pamposh Colony, Primary School Sheikh Colony Guzarbal, Boys Middle School Pandrethan, Primary School Sheikh Mohalla Colony, Boys Middle School Baghat I Shoor, Middle School Athwajan, Middle School Alamgiri Bazar, Middle School Kursu Rajbagh, Primary School Khonmoh Chek, Middle School Zainakote, Middle School Nowhatta, Middle School Madeen Saheb, Middle School Jamia Masjid, Middle School Nandpora, Middle School Baangi Mohalla, Middle School Gind Hassi Bhat, Middle School Firdausabad Fruit mandi, Middle School Doji Mohalla, Middle School Khimber, Middle School Choudhary Bagh, Middle School Shah Hamdaan Mohalla, Primary School Mirpora, Middle School Mehjoor Nagar and Middle School Dal Hassan Yar. Apart from this additional 10 schools in uncovered rural areas are being selected. Meanwhile, the district administration has also selected 14 of these schools for creative wall painting.
Deputy Commissioner, Srinagar, Shahid Iqbal Choudhary informed that administration’s constant endeavour to equip, upgrade and modernise Government schools is aimed at providing outcome-based quality education and instilling community ownership of educational institutions. More schools are being shortlisted through a competitive process. The instant project of 25 smart class rooms will be accomplished in a set timeline of 2 months.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here