Srinagar: The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) has ordered promotion of two senior IPS officers of Jammu & Kashmir cadre to Director General of Police rank.
According to an order issued by MHA Dr B. Srinivas (commandant general, Home Guards/ Civil Defence/ State Disaster Response Force) has been elevated to DGP rank with effect from 01.01.2020.
Similarly, Lalatendu Mohanty, who is on deputation, has also been promoted as DGP with effect from 01.01.2019.
Both had respectively completed their requisite service of 30 years for DGP rank on 01.01.2020 and 01.01.2019.
With these promotions, the number of DGP rank officers has gone upto six in Jammu and Kashmir.
Those holding DGP rank are Dilbagh Singh (Director General of Police, J&K), Navin Aggarwal (central deputation), SM Sahai (central deputation) and V.K. Singh (DG Prisons).
A 1990-batch IPS officer, Srinivas has held key positions in Jammu and Kashmir in the past 29 years. He has served as district police chief of Kargil, Anantnag, Budgam, Kupwara and Srinagar. He has also served as DIG north Kashmir, IG Operations north Kashmir and IGP Kashmir before serving as intelligence chief of J&K twice. He is also a recipient of Police Medal for Gallantry and President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Services.
Mohanty has also served at important positions in J&K before proceeding on central deputation. Presently, he is posted with Border Security Force (BSF)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here