Srinagar: The Centre on Monday approved the appointment of 12 local police officers in the prestigious Indian Police Service (IPS) and allocated them to Jammu and Kashmir under AGMUT cadre.
The President of India Monday approved the appointment of 12 JKPS officers in the coveted IPS. This is after a gap of 11 years that local officers have been inducted in the prestigious service through promotion.
According to notification issued by the Ministry of Home Affairs Shakti Kumar Pathak, Dr Haseeb Mughal, Javid Ahmed Koul, Sheikh Junaid Mehmood, Shahid Mehraj Rather, Dr Ajeet Singh, Altaf Ahmed Khan, Haseeb-ur-Rehman, Vikas Gupta, Abdul Qayoom, Nisha Nathyal and Javid Iqbal Matoo.
Among the officers, Mughal holds the distinction of serving as district police chief in five districts while Altaf and Javid Iqbal have also served as head of the force in three police districts.
Abdul Qayoom has also served as district police chief of Sopore and Baramulla, considered sensitive postings.
Sheikh Junaid Mehmood, Shakti Pathak, Shahid Mehraj Rather have also held district police chief posts in two districts while Haseeb-ur-Rehman and Nisha Natyal have held the key position in one district.
As already reported a panel headed by UPSC member T.C.Anant had cleared the proposal for induction of these officers during its meeting held on July 29 here.
The meeting was attended by J&K chef secretary Arun Kumar Mehta, Principal Secretary Home Shaleen Kabra and Director General of Police Dilbagh Singh. It was also attended by IG BSF and IG CRPF as representatives of MHA.
According to the notification, the officers will remain on probation for one year as per rule of Indian Police Service (Probation) Rules, 1954 and the officers will obtain induction training as per sub rule 5(4) of Indian Police Service (Probation) Rules, 1954



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here